starting strength gym

Thread: Squat and Press Form CheckH

Default Squat and Press Form CheckH

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi,

So I decided to post a form check. It actually turned out to be really useful just to see myself lift since I've never actually done that.

The squat

Here's the squat (112.5kg/248lbs)

I usually squat lower (tru, really), but I had a weird hip pain, that turned out to be coming from the deadlift (I think), so I've sort of ruined the depth in the last few sessions, and the last rep on this one is really the only thing that comes close to parallel, I think? Maybe I need to take off the 2.5kg and go below parallel with a slightly lighter weight?

I have a weird elbow imbalance(?). My right elbow can go much more higher than the left, I'm assuming that's from a small snowboarding accident that happened in January when I landed with my right hand under my back. Now I'm more flexible with the right hand?

The press (47.5kg/104lbs):

My press is total shit. Bench is slightly better (93kg estimated 1RM), but the press is terrible and has been so since the beginning (started in June, kind of) when I couldn't get past 37.5kg for a few sessions. The last set of 5 I did was 109lbs but this was 104lbs and I even missed a rep on that. Today was not a good day for the press either, for some reason. I attempted 50kg/110lbs for the first set but only got 4 reps because last time I did 49.5kg and got 5. But things aren't always as simple, it seems. :/

I have a weird thing that I do where I flare my right elbow while lowering the bar (maybe related to the accident described above?), and I get slight pain in the right shoulder (noticed it two sessions ago, have been trying to fix it). It doesn't seem that I'm doing the lift correctly, but I'm trying to keep it vertical. Not sure why this is happening though – only when I lower the bar, I think.

2nd set