• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Link -> x - YouTube
    Last warm up set = 142.5kg x 1 x 2
    Working set = 162.5kg x 1 x 2 (fail)
    Height = 6ft 5.5
    Age = 20

I filmed my working set from the side as I wanted to see the degree of lumbar flexion

This is my first time using a belt while deadlifting

I'm pretty annoyed I failed. I felt my back rounding immediately from rep #1 and it would have got worse with each rep so I didn't want to fuck my back up.

My squat is pretty low (125kg x 3 x 5 high bar) so maybe when that gets into the 140kg range, my deadlift will get stronger. I dont know.

Thoughts/criticisms/suggestions?

Thanks

As you squeeze up, you're letting your hips drop just a bit, and the bar moves forward of the midfoot just a bit. As a result, a) you don't get squeezed up enough, and b) the bar is drifting forward as you start the pull.

So, shins a little more vertical, lock those hips in place, and squeeze your chest up as hard as you can.

You're also dipping/bending the knees a little as you initiate the pull. So, you've lost any tension that you generated while squeezing up.

Instead, create tension in your body by driving your feet into the ground (just enough to create tension, not enough to start the pull) and squeezing the chest up to take the slack out of the bar. Once you're nice and tight, then drive your feet harder to initiate the pull.

Short arms + long legs = hard to deadlift.

Additionally, adding a belt to a deadlift can be difficult until you get used to it.

That being said, I agree with everything Mia said. Just keep working at it, and don't be afraid to grind through some hard reps. Your spine won't snap in half.

Thanks for the responses.

Yep, I agree with you Mia. I noticed some of those issues before but never fully addressed them and now they're coming back to bite me. I'll definitely work hard at them.