starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deadlift upper back rounding

Default Deadlift upper back rounding

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I have an issue with my upper back rounding on deadlifts. I have watched countless videos, read articles and can't quite seem to find something that has really helped me. I try the squeeze your chest up thing and that doesn't seem to do much. My ham strings feel very tight and my hips always want to drop when I try this. If I do manage to get a semi flat back then once I pull it will round.

My question is this, are there any exercises, cues, pointers etc that will help me perfect keeping my back flat?

Other useful information:

I have been doing the program for about 6 months now, with some stalls due to injuries.
    I am 5'11" 195lbs, and I am only deadlifting 220 as of my last set. I am afraid of continuing progression with my rounded back issue.
    I am a computer nerd/desk jockey so rounded back is sort of my default position.

Thanks for any help or advice anyone can offer.

Deadlift form check - YouTube
    Last edited by timistim; 08-22-2017 at 01:22 PM. Reason: added link to video of me deadlifting.

Maybe you can post a video of your deadlift.

First off, note that I posted a similar video with questions yesterday, so take this reply as nothing but another guy with similar issues who's working through them - I'm not a coach, and my deadlift set up is often ugly.

A video would be helpful.