starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Deadlift Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Yeah, you're right. My brain is telling my body to do what Starting Strength says. But something keeps getting lost between command and execution.

I'll keep at it, though. Since I read the book, focused on progressive loading, and focused on multi-joint barbell movements, I've felt a lot better. Now, if I can just get my form right, who knows? Maybe I'll accomplish something. I wish I'd read Starting Strength when I started lifting. Pretty much everything I was doing before I read the book was wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Fortinbras View Post
    I wish I'd read Starting Strength when I started lifting. Pretty much everything I was doing before I read the book was wrong.
    But better late than never right?

Yeah, you're right. My brain is telling my body to do what Starting Strength says. But something keeps getting lost between command and execution.
    You wouldn't happen to be anywhere near a coach would you?

Ok. I re-read the chapter on the deadlift, watched the 5-step video, put plywood on the floor, practiced arching my lumbar spine, dropped the weight, narrowed the stance, and tried again:

I still think that, as the book tells me to expect, step 4 is the hardest to master. To get the back close to the illustration on page 107, I feel that I have to drop the hips a bit -- which you're not supposed to do. So, I still don't feel that step 4 is what it should be. As always, your thoughts are appreciated.