starting strength gym

Thread: Bench press form check

Default Bench press form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024

This is my third set of 5 reps @ 255. I'd appreciate any feedback.

To provide some background, I weigh 185 and am 46 years old. I've been lifting for 17 years. Almost all of that lifting has been alone. I thought, based on that experience, I knew what I was doing.

Then, recently, I read Starting Strenghth. Now I'm trying to unlearn 17 years of bad habits. You patience and guidance would be appreciated. Thank you.

Hey Fortinbras
    A few things to address.
    1. Get your arch set, and your feet planted before unracking the bar. Your arching as you descend the bar to your chest. Get that set first.
    2. Take a breath BEFORE you unlock your elbows for the descent. This is also when you'd reset your arch if you needed to.
    3. Retract the shoulder blades, and squeeze them together before the descent. Reset between reps if needed.
    Happy benching.
    Last edited by Pete Troupos; 09-17-2017 at 11:30 AM. Reason: misspelling

Quote Originally Posted by Pete Troupos View Post
    Hey Fortinbras
    A few things to address.
    1. Get your arch set, and your feet planted before unracking the bar. Your arching as you descend the bar to your chest. Get that set first.
    2. Take a breath BEFORE you unlock your elbows for the descent. This is also when you'd reset your arch if you needed to.
    3. Retract the shoulder blades, and squeeze them together before the descent. Reset between reps if needed.
    Happy benching.
    Thanks. Will do.

I tried to put your advice into practice. Here's the result on my third set of 5 reps @ 265:

Thanks for your help and any further guidance. Please note I'm aware of the drawbacks of a carpet floor and the squat cage being poorly moored. I'm going to work on those issues but haven't had the time. Thanks!