starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat form check

Default Squat form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I began Starting Strength back in May after 3 years of chronic lower back pain, and now going on one year of sciatic pain. I'm 29, and I've been to physical therapists, doctors, and personal trainers. So far nothing has fixed me aside from having temporary pain relief. Nothing fixed me to the point where I could squat down or pick something (or someone, like my children) up off the floor with confidence. I got up to 230lbs. on my squat about 2 months ago, but rushed it and didn't have good form, so I started over from scratch. I'm 6'1 and 204lbs. I am not new to lifting, but I am new to low bar squatting.

Also, sorry if this isn't a good angle for critiquing my squat. I never taped myself before all this. And sorry for all the word vomit. I appreciate any feedback y'all might be able to give me.

YouTube

Also, this is 225lbs. and, I believe, my third and last set of the day.

Please get a video from the rear 45 degree angle, there's a lot we can't see here.

Your stance is too wide and your knees are caving. You are tucking your hips at the top - don't do that. Use a different rack, I think you have the bar too high in the rack. You may also be holding the bar wrong, but can't tell from this angle.

Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Illingworth View Post
    Please get a video from the rear 45 degree angle, there's a lot we can't see here.

Your stance is too wide and your knees are caving. You are tucking your hips at the top - don't do that. Use a different rack, I think you have the bar too high in the rack. You may also be holding the bar wrong, but can't tell from this angle.