starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Form check Squats

Default Form check Squats

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I'm new to the form checks. This is my first one. I noticed that some people post form checks in the SSC Q&A and some post here. What's the proper etiquette?

Here is my squat. This is my 3rd work set of 180 x 5. Looks like I'm not getting low enough depth. Although in my minds eye I felt like I was. I'm on my 4th week of LP. Thanks!

The video is a little dark, I'll try and work on that. Lighting isn't the best in my basement.

You can post form checks in either place. In the SSC Q&A, you'll only get feedback from an SSC. They are sometimes slower up there at replying than down here. Down here, anyone can give feedback. Sometimes you'll get SSCs giving feedback, sometimes people who aren't SSC (yet) but know what they're doing, sometimes complete crack-pots.

There's a lot to fix here. First, I would recommend putting the hooks one notch lower. When you get under the bar, make sure the bar is at the right point on your back and that the middle of your feet are also under the bar. This will put your hips back and you'll be starting from a better position. I think your stance is narrow, but it's hard to tell for sure with the lighting of the video.

You need to work on getting tighter (pretty much all of us do). Read/watch these in particular: thoracic extension and grip.