starting strength gym

Thread: deadlift - if this is lumbar flexion, then im in big trouble

Default deadlift - if this is lumbar flexion, then im in big trouble

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    YouTube

I'm investigating the theory that I'm one of those people who lack a neural link between their conscious brain and the muscles that surround the lumbar spine. very submaximal weight.

I can voluntarily arch my lower back, I think. But maybe not? If I'm not doing it in this video, then I've never done it before. I'm north of 30% body fat, so the arch may be more subtle than it would look on a leaner position, but I'm pretty much 100% sure that my lower back muscles are contracted. Am I wrong?

If I am, is there any way to fix this without a coach? Florida is a starting strength deadzone. (Which if you think about it for a second is just flat-out bizarre, since in the history of human civilization there has never existed a larger concentration of wealthy-enough old people than the one that exists presently on the gulf coast of FL. If I were the barbell medicine crew, I'd be on Florida approximately 364 days a year. Maybe fly back on Easter to visit the grandkids.)

YouTube

wrong link my bad

I'd try getting your hips a little lower. It looks like they start a little high. But the flexion didn't look that bad to me.

Stand up straight and put your hands on your lower back. You'll be able to feel whether it moves or not when you arch.
    As for your deadlifts, it's tough to answer questions about your back from this angle and with this quality of video. Read the sticky about they type of video to post for deadlift checks and post again.

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Grantham View Post
    Stand up straight and put your hands on your lower back. You'll be able to feel whether it moves or not when you arch.