starting strength gym

Thread: Novice Deadlift Form check

Default Novice Deadlift Form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey there! I am now 4 weeks into the Novice program. I did the program for a couple months last summer, then started my first year of teaching and ran out of time for everything.
    I am 5'7" and weigh 155 pounds. Deadlifting 150lbx5x3 and this video is of my last set. This is my first time posting so sorry the camera angle isn't great (I need to buy a tripod obviously). Here is the link for my deadlift:

Amazon Drive

Pretty solid. Could use a bit more lumbar extension("arch") when you squeeze tight at the bottom

That's great that you're working you way through the novice linear progression. Some thoughts:
    1. Check Steve Hill's post, Posting to the Technique Forum, and Tom Campitelli's post, Suggestions for filming form checks, for filming. The short take-away here - get a front 45 or front 30 angle to record from on a deadlift and make sure we can see your entire setup (Stance, grip, shins, chest, pull). Judging by your comment regarding the camera angle, you might have already read those posts and were just working with what you had at the time, but if you haven't read them, please do. If you want good feedback, people need good video.
    2. Agreed with Ryan regarding extension. The first rep is decent, but it degrades somewhat over the succeeding reps. The effort it takes to setup properly will be uncomfortable. If it isn't, it's wrong.