starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift form check

Default Deadlift form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    So, it took me far too long to get over my fear of being in a gym fail video. So after finally getting over that, this is what I am working with. I don't have a trainer. I just watch untaimed strength videos and try to absorb as much as I can.

Any critique would be very helpful.

YouTube

You are obviously very strong Why not buy the book and get some training from a certified SS coach?

Quote Originally Posted by carson View Post
    You are obviously very strong Why not buy the book and get some training from a certified SS coach?
    This is really just a hobby for me. I had gastric bypass surgery 4 years ago. I'm actually a full-time student. Computer science.

It's a little hard to say anything valuable from this video. I suggest you film a set of five instead and include your setup. It looks pretty good, but one thing I would comment on is don't exhale at the top. Wait until you've put it down. You can lose a lot of trunk stability standing there still weighed down by the load (although I know the temptation is hard to resist especially when doing heavy singles like this one).

Quote Originally Posted by Rasmus Bengtsen View Post
    It's a little hard to say anything valuable from this video. I suggest you film a set of five instead and include your setup. It looks pretty good, but one thing I would comment on is don't exhale at the top. Wait until you've put it down. You can lose a lot of trunk stability standing there still weighed down by the load (although I know the temptation is hard to resist especially when doing heavy singles like this one).
    I'm deadlifting again tomorrow morning. I'll get a better video. Is it dangerous to take a second breath at the top after exhaling instead of one breath up and down?