starting strength gym

Thread: Form guidance -- hip pain

Default Form guidance -- hip pain

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have had mild hip pain on the right side close to the femur insertion. Tried taking off two weeks from squats and commuting by bike and taking Aleve. The pain did not go away although it is a bit less pronounced now.

I'd like to nail down my squat form in case that is causing or aggravating the pain. Your help is appreciated. The squat should be easy for me, I was doing 310 two weeks ago and reduced the weight down to 275 for this first set after the rest period.

Squat, 275x5x3
    YouTube
    YouTube
    YouTube

Deadlift 335x5
    YouTube
    YouTube

Thank you!

I’m no expert, and this may not be causing your hip pain, but:

Squat - you need to bend your knees and hips at the same time, not hips first then knees. I will say that I used to do that and had some hip pain as well, which has since subsided.

Deadlift - you seem to be exhibiting the classic step 4 error, where you drop your hips to set the back, and this kicks the bar forward. Freeze your hips on step 4, and instead squeeze the bar off the floor to set your back.

Thank you for the feedback Eric.

I see what you are saying on the squat. That seems helpful, will focus on breaking simultaneously.

On the deadlift, are you sure ? It doesn't feel like that and I don't see it in the video except maybe one or two reps where I pull the bar back in after setting. So I don't think I'm making this error but will definitely be mindful of it next time.

Quote Originally Posted by CremaKing View Post
    On the deadlift, are you sure ?
    Thought I saw it a few times, perhaps not. Others may have a keener eye. A little hard to tell IMO because the bar moves around quite a bit on the platform.

In addition to what Eric said,