starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BP / Press form check

Default BP / Press form check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey everyone,

Care to check my BP and Press forms? I just began starting strength 10 days ago.

6 feet, 70kg.

-> BP 40kg. I try to keep the bar parallel, I often have problem with that when I forget to check.
    Front view : YouTube
    Diagonal view : YouTube

-> Press 20 kg. I'm new to this exercise. Especially I'm not sure about the grip width so I joined 2 versions of the grip width for the diagonal view.
    Rear view : YouTube
    Diagonal view : YouTube
    Diagonal view (wider grip) : YouTube

Thanks a lot

Bench: Keep your eyes fixated at 1 point on the ceiling for the entire set, and memorize where the bar is in relation to the point when you're holding it at the top. When your pushing up, focus on that point. Right now you're looking around randomly which will eventually mess with the bar path.

Press: You're going to have to start pressing out of the squat rack. Picking it up off the ground and reverse curling it up won't be possible when it gets heavy. Also check out the barbell logic youtube channel, and watch the press video. Reading the book is ideal, but the video will get you started.

Feet wider apart on Press. Use rack and Eat.

Ok thanks for the tips, here is a new record of me today doing the press. Is that better?

Press 20kg -> YouTube

I forgot to record the BP, will do it next time.

Did you watch the Barbell Logic YouTube video on Press, as Brian suggested? A good homework assignment would be watching it then reporting back on what you yourself need to work on.

Having said all that: elbows should be slightly forward of the bar.