starting strength gym

Thread: Bench press technique

Default Bench press technique

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi guys,
    I've been benching for quite a few years, managed to work up to 130kgx3 @87kg bodyweight in last December. Later on, I stopped lifting for 4 months and my bench went down to a miserable 80kgx5. I restarted training 1.5 months ago and I expected that getting my bench back up to where it was would be smooth sailing but I was wrong. I'm currently at 102.5kgx5 and progress slowed down a lot, so I figured out it might be a technique issue since I'm eating and sleeping a lot and training hard. I took a video today attempting 105kg and only got 3 reps, but I was surprised by how bad my technique looked:
    YouTube
    Here are the flaws I noticed (correct me if i'm wrong)
    1- I'm lifting my head at every lockout (this is easy to fix)
    2- Except for the first rep, I'm not controlling the eccentric part of the movement at all and losing my tightness
    3- I've always benched with only my toes touching the ground, does that contribute to making me instable ?

If you notice any other problem with my technique feel free to tell me.
    All these problems can be eliminated if I use a lighter load, but I'd like some tips to keep my form correct at maximal weights.
    Thanks in advance.

Hey, Mirat!

Good observations! During the descent, there are a few things happening.

First, your grip looks a tad narrow. I'd widen it a finger width or two. (Have a buddy watch your forearms when you're warming up. When the bar is resting on your chest, your forearms should be vertical.)