starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Check: 225x5

Default Squat Check: 225x5

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello everyone. I’ve been lurking around here for a while, trying to learn as much as I can from you all. But finally decided it was time go ask for some help.

I’m a 30 year old male, 180 lb 5’9”. I have been doing the LP off and on since the fall of 2017. I started at 65lb squat and worked up to 300lb in July 2018. But my form was terrible, see for yourself:

YouTube

I then deloaded multiple times to work on my form, but never quite got it down where it should be.

More recently, in December 2018 I was hit by a car on my bicycle and separated my right shoulder. I had to take a couple months off to recover, and finally got back into the gym in February this year. I started with the safety squat bar, and finally in March I was able to low bar squat without too much pain.

Here’s where I was right before the accident:

YouTube

And this is from today (apologies for the all black attire):

YouTube

I’ve been working on keeping my lower back tight through the entire lift, keeping upper back tight and chest up, keeping weight over my mid foot and not leaning forward, and keeping knees out. But I still have trouble keeping knees from caving in and my hips from rising up out of the bottom of the lift. And up until my workout today, I was experiencing lower back pain from squatting.

Any tips and pointers would be greatly appreciated. I’m anxious to get my form corrected and start gaining strength.

Thanks,
    Tim

Hey Tim
    Sorry to hear about the accident. Glad you're ok.