starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Back Pain; Leg Length Discrepancy or Wandering Knees?

Default Squat Back Pain; Leg Length Discrepancy or Wandering Knees?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    tl;dr at bottom

Hello. This is my first time posting, so please let me know if I format something incorrectly.

I am having lower back pain after squatting, and I think it is caused by either:

A: A leg length discrepancy that causes unevenness in my hips.
    or...
    B: My knees not being pushed out far enough.
    or...
    C: An unevenness of leg length causing my knees to not be pushed out far enough.

I attended the August Squat and Deadlift training camp, where my issues did not seem as noticeable as they had been in previous training sessions. I did not notice any pain then, and Rip didn't say anything about my leg length. It frustrates me that I still am dealing with these problems, and I am not sure how to fix them. Here are two videos of my technique; one at 275 x 5, and one at 185 x 5 (with an emphasis on shoving knees out).

275 x 5: YouTube
    185 x 5: YouTube

I am aware that there is an issue with knee placement, but I'm stuck as to how to go about fixing it or determining if it is caused by uneven leg length. Even after knocking down the weight and focusing on shoving my knees out I still find them caving in, causing a tilt in my hips resulting in back pain. If it is not Leg Length Discrepancy (LLD), should I knock the weight down even further? I tried narrowing my stance, should that help?

TL;DR - I think my knees are caving in (especially noticeable at 275 x 5) due to either poor technique or LLD. Even after knocking down the weight, I still struggle with pain and uneven hips. Thoughts?

I would really appreciate some feedback. Thanks!

Can you be more specific with "back pain"? Where exactly is it? Sharp pain that comes and goes, or dull pain that lingers? Both sides?