starting strength gym

Thread: Terrible Shoulder Mobility = Lower Back Flexion?

Default Terrible Shoulder Mobility = Lower Back Flexion?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    G’day Team SS,

Happy NY from Sydney, Australia!

First time post, so quick intro... my name’s Glen, I’m 186cm, 94kg (207 pounds) and this is a SQUAT video of my third training session.

I’m brand new to lifting and I’ve spent about 30 hours so far consuming SS material (book, videos etc) and I want to make sure I'm looking at things the right way.
    Hope it's not too early in my progression to post such a basic question / video.

It's of my working set of 40kg (88 pounds)

The weight feels fine, but my god, the discomfort in my shoulders is intense (I think it’s my Latissimus Dorsi?).
    As you can see, I leave the bar looking like a cripple. I point to the exact spot at the end.

As you can see in the setup, I'm having trouble getting the bar under the spine of the scapula while maintaining narrow arms and straight wrists (they're not).
    After the 5 warmup sets recommended by the SS App, my shoulders are toast.

As a result, at the bottom of the squat, the bar feels unstable / too high, and I think that’s causing the lower back flexion, and I think I need to get another 1/2 inch lower, but it feels a bit sketchy with the bar so high.

I’ve watched Paul Horn’s video on the stretch he recommends, and I’ve started doing that.

My question/s are:

1. Do you agree with my self analysis? I’d like to confirm I understand the theory.
    2. Do you agree the solution is simply time, stretching and suffer through it? (I’m happy with all three)
    3. If so, should I keep adding weight while mobility is so rotten, or should I keep it at the current weight until I can get the bar in the right position?

If this is asking too much for a forum question, I’m happy to engage one of you guys for a consult.