starting strength gym

Thread: Workout #3 Form Check (Squat, Press, Deadlift)

Default Workout #3 Form Check (Squat, Press, Deadlift)

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've lifted weights before, but it has been a good while (and I’ve never done it as much as I should have). I’d classify myself as a novice. An old, weak, tubby novice (5’ 8” 175 pounds…ugh). I’m also very uncoordinated. A real catch! I’m committed to changing at least part of that (can’t change old I guess). I’m completely new to this program. I’ve read the book, listened to a bunch of your podcast episodes, and watched a ton of the videos (before I got started this week).

I just finished my 3rd workout and have been using the app (and working up from light weights). I want to do a form check before starting week two. I want to make sure I work out and practice fixing any major kinks in my form next week before the weights start getting heavier (and I develop bad habits). Proper shoes have been ordered.

I filmed today (squat, press, and deadlift) just so I could see if I was even in the right ballpark on all this. I filmed the warmups and the work sets for each exercise (I shortened it and labeled each one). After watching the video, I think I have work to do (I talk about it in the video). Prior to watching the video, I thought my squat was ok and my deadlift was a mess. After watching it, I think it is the opposite. I think my press is in decent shape. I’m probably wrong on all three, however. Did I mention I might also be dumb!?!