When to start to do deadlifts/squats with a belt? When to start to do deadlifts/squats with a belt?

starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: When to start to do deadlifts/squats with a belt?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    13

    Question When to start to do deadlifts/squats with a belt?

    • wichita falls texas march seminar date
    • woodmere new york april seminar date
    Hello, i have started beginner program including squats & deadlifts. I see more experienced guys putting on belts for those exercises. I do rather low weights still for now, the question is when it's time to start putting on the belt for me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    Once your technique is good and the weights start to get heavy in the Squat, start using the belt. The deadlift you'll want to wait longer. You'll also have to figure out whether you can use a 3in belt for both lifts of if you'll need a 4in belt for the Squat and a 3in belt for the DL. Do you have a belt yet?
    Ryan Arnold
    Crossfit Solace
    ryanarnold1178@gmail.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    977

    Default

    I'm still not using a belt for squats :-/ I just can't get comfortable with one, it's always digging in somewhere and that disturbs my concentration which sucks, as I suspect I could add 10Kg if I did.

    I wear a 3" belt for every other lift for the top set and sometimes for the last warm up, or during dynamic lifts. I prefer 4" for press, and Bench.

    If you are starting to struggle a bit with the top set, then it's time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I dont mean to hijack this thread but I am also curious about this. I ordered a 3 belt when I ordered my shoes and Im still waiting on the belt. How will I know if I should get a 4 also?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    977

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CaseyS View Post
    I dont mean to hijack this thread but I am also curious about this. I ordered a 3 belt when I ordered my shoes and Im still waiting on the belt. How will I know if I should get a 4 also?
    You don't need a 4" belt. I bought a 4" lever belt prior to putting on some weight and then couldn't use it as the belly grew. As I've got rid of most of the flab, I can now use it again. I've been using the 3" happily for the last year without a thought for the 4" and making good progress. The 4" provides greater support, but it's nice to have not a necessity IMO.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CaseyS View Post
    I don’t mean to hijack this thread but I am also curious about this. I ordered a 3” belt when I ordered my shoes and I’m still waiting on the belt. How will I know if I should get a 4” also?
    Use the 3in belt for a while and see how you like it. If you feel it is sufficient then you're good to go. Depending on your anthropometry you may consider a 4in at some point. Cross that bridge when you come to it
    Ryan Arnold
    Crossfit Solace
    ryanarnold1178@gmail.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nockian View Post
    I'm still not using a belt for squats :-/ I just can't get comfortable with one, it's always digging in somewhere and that disturbs my concentration which sucks, as I suspect I could add 10Kg if I did.
    I think you should keep troubleshooting until you figure this out. Your comfort is not of our concern.
    Ryan Arnold
    Crossfit Solace
    ryanarnold1178@gmail.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    977

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Arnold View Post
    I think you should keep troubleshooting until you figure this out. Your comfort is not of our concern.
    :-) yeah I know.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I do not have a belt for now. How can I tell if I need 3in or both? Should the Squat belt be more loose?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    starting strength coach development program
    Oh I think I get it, inches mean belt width, not length, right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •