starting strength gym

Thread: Texas Method squat form check.

Default Texas Method squat form check.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello
    I was hoping a coach could give me some tips on my final squat set. I started Starting Strength a few years ago and after a period of not much progress have started Texas method. I am basically self taught from youtube at this point and have never had any coaching so hopefully haven't got any bad habbits. With the heavy sets I notice a tendancy to lean forward a bit towards the end which I feel as I correct on the ascend.

YouTube

Here is my working set at 142.5kg (314 pounds). Appologies for the flickering lights, new camera was set to a bad frequence for UK lights.
    Cheers
    Dan

Danimal
    Your first two reps were to depth, but then they got cut off progressively higher and higher. Don't post high squats my man.
    Get your eyes down and keep them there.
    You're not leaning over enough or shoving your knees out, so getting to depth is more difficult than it needs to be. As soon as you start send your ass straight back, point your nipples toward the floor and aim your knees to try and touch the safeties on either side of you. Then make sure you're consistently hitting depth.
    Work on those things for now. You may need to take 5-10kg off the bar, but you can take bigger jumps coming back up. Just don't post them if the hip crease isn't below the top of the knee.
    Is this your volume day or intensity day?
    May I have permission to use you for a form check example project I want to do that may help others?
    Last edited by Pete Troupos; 01-17-2020 at 05:49 PM.

Hi Pete