Default Deadlift form check

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi,

This is my first time posting on the forum so here's some info:

Height: 175cm (5'9")
    BW: 95kg (209lbs)

Workset on deadlifts below is 100kg x 5. Any feedback is appreciated.

These look good

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Arnold View Post
    These look good
    Thanks for the reply Ryan, I'll keep adding weight.

At the beginning of this week, Monday may 4th I restarted the NLP due to a lay off aka Corona related gym closure. Managed to get a good barbell, set of bumpers and a squat stand (I know not ideal) for home. This is the deadlift work set, just over 80% of the work weight before the layoff.

YouTube

Once again any feedback is appreciated.

Hey Petar, sorry for the late reply.

You are dropping your hips and combining steps in the setup. I will re-post the steps as a refresher. Do them all separately. Secondly, focus more on the squeeze. Arch your low back HARD. Your spine wants to flex with a weight in your hands so you have to force it into extension to counter act this.

The Deadlift: Perfect Every Time
    1. Take your stance, feet a little closer than you think it needs to be and with your toes out more than you like. Your shins should be about one inch from the bar, no more. This places the bar over the mid-foot – the whole foot, not the mid-instep.

2. Take your grip on the bar, leaving your hips up. DO NOT MOVE THE BAR.

3. Drop your knees forward and out until your shins touch the bar. DO NOT MOVE THE BAR.

4. Hard part: squeeze your chest up as hard as you can. DO NOT MOVE THE BAR. This establishes a "wave" of extension that goes all the way down to the lumbar, and sets the back angle from the top down. DO NOT LOWER YOUR HIPS – LIFT THE CHEST TO SET THE BACK ANGLE.