starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Form Check

Post Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    This is my third working set from this morning.

29M/5'9"/173lbs. First post here on the forum, but I've been posting on the Starting Strength Reddit for a few months now.

Some background: My squat stalled at 205 around Christmas, I did a 90% reset and worked up to 210 in January before needing 10 days off for injury. Started back up at 90% on all lifts and finally back up to 210. I'm currently resting ~ 8 minutes between sets and have added a light squat day. If you're curious to see some old sets you can see them here.

Welcome Ben
    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Chasnov View Post
    29M/5'9"/173lbs.
    This might be part of the problem with the stall.

The squat looks pretty good, but I'd like to see you stay tighter into the bottom. You're letting yourself "drop in", and to do that something has to be loose for a moment. When things get loose, you get off balance.
    See if you can stay tighter into the hole. Reach back with your ass and enjoy the stretch of the hamstrings.

Then read this, if you haven't already.

Thanks for your feedback, Pete. I currently rest 8-10 minutes on heavy squat sets and have been adding 5lbs (except for light squat days). I aim for around 8 hours of sleep every night.

I started the program in October around 145lbs and am still gaining around 1lb a week. I've moved from ~15%BF to 20+ by my visual estimate and US Navy calculations. My food intake is around 3550 cals a day, 444C/99F/222P. Since I've been consistently gaining weight (and put on quite a bit of fat) I've been hesitant to go much higher. Am I really NDTP?

I'll focus on tightness and try to feel my hamstrings at the bottom.

Quote Originally Posted by Ben Chasnov View Post
    I started the program in October around 145lbs and am still gaining around 1lb a week.