starting strength gym

Thread: Deadlift Form Check

Default Deadlift Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    This is my first time wearing a weight belt doing deadlifts, and also first time wearing lifting shoes to deadlift. This weight is a bit of a deload, also.
    I have a terrible problem falling back to RDL form because of my long arms. The horrible face you will see here is not so much the weight as my concentrated effort to push hips down. I also can't seem to figure out how to get my knees out of the way. video

Thank you for your help!
    -David

You are dropping your hips right away as you grip the bar. I'll post the steps as a reminder below. Follow them exactly. You probably don't need the belt in the DL yet. Put it on when you've mastered the squeeze, when the weight is a bit heavier, and wear it lower. The way to get your knees out of the way is to keep your hips higher:

The Deadlift: Perfect Every Time
    1. Take your stance, feet a little closer than you think it needs to be and with your toes out more than you like. Your shins should be about one inch from the bar, no more. This places the bar over the mid-foot – the whole foot, not the mid-instep.

2. Take your grip on the bar, leaving your hips up. DO NOT MOVE THE BAR.

3. Drop your knees forward and out until your shins touch the bar. DO NOT MOVE THE BAR.

4. Hard part: squeeze your chest up as hard as you can. DO NOT MOVE THE BAR. This establishes a "wave" of extension that goes all the way down to the lumbar, and sets the back angle from the top down. DO NOT LOWER YOUR HIPS – LIFT THE CHEST TO SET THE BACK ANGLE.