starting strength gym

Thread: Form check after injury for squat and deadlift

Default Form check after injury for squat and deadlift

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Dear Experts,

Background: I am a novice, and my previous PR was 170 lbs in squats, after which I had a pelvic injury ( pain in groin to be specific). I had to take a break from exercise for a month and a half. I began again recently with a deload of 50%. I made few changes in my technique:

1. I didn't know what triggered my previous injury, so I reduced my stance width.
    2. I bring my knees more forward now. Earlier even if I was hitting depth, my shin was almost vertical.
    3. I try to be more tight at bottom now, and engage my hip drive. Earlier, I was not consciously using hip drive, so I think this was resulting in imbalances in my bounce, where one leg used to take more load then the other, so my quads used to be on fire after the rep. I used to recover by the next rep, but I had a feeling that the quads are taking more than they are supposed to. Now after using more hip drive, as Rip would say "stay in your hips", I find my quads relatively less stressed out.

Now I don't feel any pain yet, will see how it holds up when I reach my previous PR and beyond.

Request you all to review my current form, appreciate any suggestions:

Current Squats at 145 lbs:
    Squat-145 lbs (66kg) - YouTube

Please also find my deadlift at 235 lbs, please review:
    Deadlift- 235 lbs (107 kg) - YouTube

A question on deadlift: I followed Rip's process for setup of bringing the shin to touch the bar. Yet, when I initiate the lift, it looks like my hips drop down... Any suggestions to correct it?

Thanks.

I'll throw a few things in that I see and then will defer to the coaches.