starting strength gym

Thread: Left side lumbar and right hip pain during squatting.

Default Left side lumbar and right hip pain during squatting.

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been lifting off-and-on for a few years, and I think figuring out my squatting issues is the last real barrier to me getting stronger. I'd be very grateful if I could get another set of eyes while I figure it out.

Tl;dr I have a bunch of asymmetric pain and discomfort in my midsection and hips during squatting. My deadlift and olympic lifting usually aren’t affected, and my upper body lifts are never affected. There's a video from a bad angle at the end, I'll get better footage next week.

A couple of weeks ago my friend pointed out that I'd been setting the bar on my back 2.5" to the right -- a normal, centered bar position feels tighter on my left shoulder. I have no idea how long I've been squatting like that, but I’ve been lifting for a few months on this round of LP. I’ve since changed my setup technique to repeatedly check that the bar is centered and even, and bought a camera tripod to film my sets. The worst hot spots are in the left side of my midback, somewhat under the scapula and my right hip and glute. My hips don't feel even with each other, even when they are, and the right side of my abs feel like they are working much harder (although this is after discovering I've been squatting out of balance for a while).

My legs feel strong, but my midsection and hips just feel bloated, out of balance, and too weird to push on. The pain is now maybe 2-3, but it interferes with my perception enough that I struggle to get tight enough to squat properly.

My two theories are that I am either
    Still squatting wrong and therefore causing myself issues
    Still recovering from squatting wrong for months and need to approach my rehab/progression differently