starting strength gym

Thread: [Squat Form Check] Crippling Adductor tendon pain

Default [Squat Form Check] Crippling Adductor tendon pain

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I am a novice programmer weighing 65kg. I started lifting 6 months ago. Last month I went through pain in the left lower hips. This was due my back not being in extension. I corrected my form and restarted the program . Being able to keep my back tight helped a lot.

A couple of days ago, I was squatting 60kg and I experienced a sharp pain in my left adductor tendon, in the groin area at the bottom of the squat, while coming back up. In my next session, the pain had increased a bit. I could do warmups with slight difficulty but I couldn’t go deep in my work set. The following video shows this.

In the next session, it got so painful that I couldn’t even do my warmups properly. I tried narrowing my stance and reducing the angle between my feet. They seemed to help without the bar but not with the bar. I also tried massaging the adductor muscle but it only gives temporary releif. In the same session, I felt pain in the middle of my left foot during 90kg deadlift. It might be unrelated though. I suspect all these issues in my left hip to foot are related somehow.

The video of the session before I hurt my adductor for reference

You are squatting above parallel with knees caving in and back hyperextended at the start. I would start there. Probably a good time to reread the squat chapter of Starting Strength: Basic Barbell Training, 3rd edition (Current Revision, Paperback) – The Aasgaard Company.

Thank you for your feedback. I will reread the squat chapter. Could you be more specific about the knees? I realize I am not going deeper even in the pre-injury video, but for now, I want to focus on working out with the pain and not let it sabotage my training. Any suggestions regarding that?