starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Form Check

Default Squat Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi All,
    I am a freshman in HS, and very new to weightlifting. I am very excited to begin Starting Strength, I love the book. Before I start the program, I want to make sure my technique is ok. I am 6'4, 220 lbs, and I want to be the starting Left Tackle on next year's varsity team. I don't think I am getting low enough, it is hard for me, I have read the sticky note on getting lower but it just doesnt feel comfortable. My descent also does not seem fluid as all the other videos I have watched.

Have a look, can't wait to hear from you.
    Sam.

Squat 135x10

Hey Sam,

Only approving because you have not been on this planet very long. If you really want to get stronger and make the team you need to read the book. If you are squatting high, for sets of 10 and barefoot you have not read the book. I would also just find a SSC near you to see for at least a few sessions as it will save you a ton of time

Dear Sam,

If you are 15, 6'4" and 220, I predict a bright future for you in the weight room. If you are in New Jersey, the only Starting Strength coach I see in the directory is in Asbury Park.

There are some coaches in Manhattan, if that is close (including Ryan Arnold, who replied to you above).

You might consider getting the DVD, which I love:

Starting Strength DVD (2010) – The Aasgaard Company

In the book, your concerns about squat depth are pictured on p. 18 of Starting Strength: Basic Barbell Training (SSBBT). In Figure 2-10, your too-high squat is second-from-the-left. You want to be at the depth shown in the fourth-from-the-left picture.

But, start with the foot placement shown in Figure 2-12 (SSBBT, p. 20) and the bottom position shown in Figure 2-13 (SSBBT, p. 21). It's good to start learning the squat by learning the bottom position.