starting strength gym

Thread: Squat form check please (low back fatigue from racking)

Default Squat form check please (low back fatigue from racking)

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi everyone,

I could really use a form check. I am coming back after 2 months of inactivity. In Feb, I squatted 235 lbs. Picked it up at 185 lbs in May and today did 205 lbs.

I am still learning the LB. One of the main issues I have been struggling with is lower back fatigue when racking the bar after the set. I have no problems when doing the squat itself, but when I rack it back, I feel like I am going to fold in half forwards. I feel a lot of tension in the low back. This could be because I don't have my hips under me or something, I don't know how to explain it clearly.

When I did HB in the past, I did not feel this low back fatigue while racking the bar. My hips were directly in a straight line under my shoulders, while in the LB I feel I am bent over at the top, which means my hips are pushed out. Can someone give me a pointer on what I am doing wrong and how I can fix this?

Am I supposed to inhale and hold my breath while waking forwards to rerack? That could be a reason too, because I am not holding the air down and am just gasping because the last rep is always hard.

Set 1, 2, and 3 (together with breaks cut out) Set 2 has the best camera angle among the three.