starting strength gym

Thread: Left Elbow pain after squats. "T-Rexitius"

Default Left Elbow pain after squats. "T-Rexitius"

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    42yo 225lb 5'10 "T-Rexitius"

I am pushing hard and am seeing crazy numbers!
    But am having problems with extreme inside left elbow pain from squats. (I am left handed)
    As my squat weight has been increasing, interior elbow pain has been getting worse and worse.
    After 2x squat sets I cant lift up my iphone or continue with next exercises for a few hours.

My thoughts are bar might be too low or I may have shoulder flexibility problems? I find the lower I put the bar, the more weight i can lift.
    I am a newbie and in the Linear Progression and will be adding power cleans soon.

My deadlift also stopped due to not being able to hold bar. (I have ordered chalk, and might get a belt soon)

Should I slow down on squats and focus on arms to be more "balanced"?

I will post some videos tonight of when my elbow recovers a bit.

Start Dec 5th Current Dec 23
    SQ 225 275 (more room for gainz!)
    DL 245 265 (stuck from mini hands and shit grip, chalk on order)
    BP 125 145 (slow and steady)
    OH 80 90 (slow and steady)
    Weight 220 225

Thank you for your feedback!

I took an hour break, adjusted squat to a slightly higher position and finished set. the slightly higher position helped. Here is final squat rep, DL and Press.
    Any advice on technique, better video angle or anything else is greatly appreciated.

It is fair to say that I really dont know what I am doing quite yet haha.

Squat
    Deadlift
    Oh Press

Edit: got er fixed!
    Last edited by Ryan ODonnell; 12-23-2021 at 07:38 PM.

Preventing Elbow Pain in the Squat | Nick Delgadillo

This is what you're looking for.

Careful not to prop the bar up too high when bringing in the grip. I started doing that and it took way too long for my coach and I to get it sorted out later.