starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat Form Check Before I Move On Up

Default Squat Form Check Before I Move On Up

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    220 3x5 is my all-time PR. I’ve wasted time, not been consistent with my training, and also let 225 (4 plates get in my head). I’ve been lifting for a little over 2 years and right now I’m focused on getting my squat up. I haven’t had a form check since I started and would appreciate anyone looking at this and letting me know things I need to work on before I proceed. I record myself and try to dissect things fairly regularly, but I feel like that is the blind leading the blind at times (as I likely don’t know what I don’t know). I included all 3 of my work sets along with a bit of me jabbering about my training history and programming choices. Thanks for any input.

220 Squat (3x5) Form Check - Starting Strength - YouTube

A few things:
    First: The narration makes it hard to focus on the lifting. For future videos its probably going to be more effective to type up your thoughts here if you want feedback as opposed to narration. Other than injury history your training history isn't terribly important relative to this.

Second - Stance: It looks like your stance is too narrow. Toe angle looks acceptable but may be a bit narrow.

Third - Grip: From these videos it actually looks like the bar may be too high up. Your upper back doesn't look TIGHT, it looks rounded from the start to finish of every rep. Your wrists are also in extension, you need to put some flexion into them and get them closer to neutral.

Fourth - Hips: Get your hips farther back and cut about 2 inches off of your depth. The top of the patella ought to be just above the hip crease.

I do not have my blue-book on hand but all of this is covered thoroughly in the squat chapter.