starting strength gym

Thread: Squat, Press, Deadlift Form Check

Default Squat, Press, Deadlift Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello my name is Dominic and I am new to starting strength and the forum. I wanted to post my lifts from today and see if I could get some feedback on how I am doing. I started the program at the beginning of March of this year. I am a 36 year old male 6'1" Weight is 242 lb's.

Lifts currently

Squat 370 5x3 Squat/ Weight 370/ 5x3 - YouTube

Press 165 5x3 Press/ Weight 165/ 5x3 - YouTube

Deadlift 420 5x1 Deadlift/ Weight 420/ 5x1 - YouTube

Bench 225 5x3

I started stalling on my press at 160 pounds, I'm hoping this is a technique issue and would really like feed back on the press most of all. I want to get my press numbers to start going up again, I hit 165 today but it was tough. The videos are all of my last working sets, any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

SQ: Stand up straight with your head between your shoulders. Your knees are moving through the rep. Set them earlier and leave them set. Your back angle is opening at the bottom. It’s tricky to see from the angle, but the forward humping is there.

PR: Moved fast. The moustache is… a lot.

DL: Hips are a hair low to start. Where they get to is where you want them. No touch-and-go reps.

Strong set all around otherwise.

You could stand to get and stay a little tighter on your press. Tighten your abs enough that your pelvis tilts upward slightly. You can see that a lot of your "bounce" goes to places other than the bar: you knees bend on a few of these, for example. Not from pushing the bar but just from having them absorb the "shock" of the hip movement, rather than staying tight and letting it go into the bar.