starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deadlift Form Check

Default Deadlift Form Check

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi there,
    I was wondering if I could get some feedback on my deadlift form. I've been training for several years now on and off and never was able to do a deadlift heavier then 150kg for 1 rep. At the start of this year I decided to start over again doing NLP and work on my form, and now at 135kg. I'm still reading through the Starting Strength book, but was wondering if anyone could tell if I've done anything absurdley wrong? Given now I've missed 135kg two sessions in a row now. First sesson I was able to do 135kgx3, then next session was only able to do 135kgx1.

Also a specific question: In the Starting Strength method for deadlifting we are taught to reach for the bar stiff-legged, letting our back bend as we reach for it, then at the end, we force our back into thoracic and lumbar extension. My question is, is there anything wrong with maintaining thoracic and lumbar extension as we reach for the bar while pushing our hips back, instead of letting the back bend as we reach for the bar? The latter is what I have been doing for a long time, up until I read the Starting Strength method, because I feel safer knowing my back is definitely in extension, but was wondering if it makes the deadlift worse?

Video 1: Deadlift Form Check - 130kg/286lb - BW @ 90kg/200lb - YouTube (showing old way of setting up)

Video 2: Deadlift Form Check - 135kg/297lb - BW @ 90kg/200lb - YouTube (current, failed set of 5)

Thanks for any help

Might be time for a belt.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Might be time for a belt.