starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting Strength and seminar experience (Denmark)

Default Starting Strength and seminar experience (Denmark)

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    My experience at/after a Starting Strength seminar. (Dec. 2013 Høvelte, Denmark)

I started lifting in 2012 at 33, had previously been a runner for 10 years. At the time my 6.6 frame weighed in at 86 kg.

Having had my first kid in 2010 and a second soon to be on the way - it was getting harder and harder to do cardio hours on end. I was getting tired from constant pain in the knees, and had pretty much accepted that physically I had peaked.

So I started looking for something else.

I found starting strength through a friend and started on my own. At 34 my stats had gone to this following SS and then TM:

Bw 105 kg
    Squat 180kg
    Bench 130kg
    Deadlift 230kg 240 hitched...
    Press 95kg
    Power clean and Jerk 100 kg. (Power curl and Jerk/push press...)

I would imagine, I was at that time twice as strong as my 20 year old self - and I loved it.

After I hit those lifts, I did have a sense of running into a brick wall. My press and bench remained close to the same for a year. I wouldn't say I was at my wits end, but easy gains seemed long gone.

I considered a seminar, but the idea of telling my wife, that I'd leave her at home with a 3 year old and a baby born 6 months prior to go lift some things didn't really fly. Also the plane and hotel expense seemed a little off putting.

Though not one to believe in divine intervention, I was in late 2013, very surprised to see a starting strength seminar roundtrip of Europe scheduled, with one of the venues being 10 km from my house... If you know the size of Denmark, you'd understand that for the SS crew to even select that place, is akin to wining the lottery