starting strength gym

Thread: Testimonial for SSC Adam Skillin

Default Testimonial for SSC Adam Skillin

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been working with Adam since mid-June of this year. I started as a complete newcomer to strength training – my 24 year-old son, David, gave me an intro session with Adam as a birthday gift. David started strength training about a year earlier and it had made a massive difference in his life – on many levels. So when he told me about the gift, I had to accept it – even though I had a lot of trepidation about barbell lifts and strength training in general.

A few facts about me: I’m a 67 year old woman, 5’7” – and in June I weighed something north of 175 lbs; in my teens and twenties I studied dance seriously, and through the years kept reasonably active, doing the personal training thing off and on for years with periodic overuse injuries; in 2015, I had posterior lumbar interbody fusion surgery, so I have a titanium disc at L4/L5; and since then I had really cut back on physical activity. In my mind, I did not think I would be a good candidate for this barbell stuff and of course I worried that I would do some lift that would pop out my metal disc! But my son wanted me to try it out, and I could not refuse.