starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Knee---What Now?

Question New Knee---What Now?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    It's been 2 weeks since I got a new knee, a total replacement. I'm supposed to start physical therapy this week. I'm not really looking forward to this because of PT's myopic viewpoint on how to rehab. I had a PT come to the house to basically make sure I could walk around the house without falling down. It was not a good first impression. I've been doing SS for about 8-9 years now. Between that and reading about PT's shortcomings on this website I'm looking for a rehab program that is more productive. I have weights, power rack, shoes, belt and a rowing machine. That last 3 days I've been rowing 2x for about 10 minutes each time on a very low resistance setting. More to just get moving again and mental health. I know a lot of it is just listening to how your body reacts but it would be really nice to have a template to start from. I'm really motivated because I have already got my ski pass for the upcoming winter. I even have my skis in a corner of the living room for a constant reminder and motivator. Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated. SS has been a fountain of youth for this 66 years young geezer.

Work on getting full range of motion before doing any squats with a loaded bar. Once the ROM has been established go through LP being conservative with weight increases. Of course, focus on good form.

I have no advice but a question for other people replying: Do you think it'd help to lay out with the PT what your goals are before they start dispensing the usual stupid, e.g. "I want ot get full range of motion as fast as possible so I can get back to weight training"?