starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Found out today I am really, really wrong about everything. Bro lifter explain it all

Unhappy Found out today I am really, really wrong about everything. Bro lifter explain it all

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    First off, I am 57 years old, 6'5", have an arthritic knee, and weigh too much. I usually wear ear buds when working out, usually without music just to cut the inanity and discourage the 'chatty Cathies' at my gym. I have been lifting for forty years and assumed I knew what I was doing. After all I have worked out with top body builders, powerlifting world champs, and some world class coaches.

Just as I finished my last warm up set of squats, a ten pound dumb bell comes flying out of nowhere and thuds into the squat rack. Two bros -- skinny, no biceps but wearing tank tops -- come over to pick up their dumbbell. I joke, "If you toss yours at me, I get to toss mine at you" as I pat the barbell in the rack.

The bro with the bigger man bun (must designate rank somehow) made a minimal apology. Then he said, "You know squatting is dangerous?"

"That is why I do it," I said adding weight to the bar, hoping they would go away.

"It does nothing for your core and is bad for your ankles." He then goes a few feet away and proceeds to do a movement like a kettlebell swing with a pirouette at the end followed with a lunge that made me wonder if he had forgotten his anti seizure meds. No, he explained, this was the way to lose fat quickly. You do one rep, then two, then four, and so on until you can do any more.

I said, "You must have a high Fibonacci number."