starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions for Dr. Sullivan: Medicine, Coaching, and Training

Default Questions for Dr. Sullivan: Medicine, Coaching, and Training

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Dr. Sullivan.

I'm a first year medical student interested in emergency medicine and strength training. I’d like to know more about how you balance your coaching practice with your medical practice, and how this affects your own training. I put together this barrage of questions below. Any answers you could provide would be very valuable to me in trying to plan out my own career.

What is your balance of shifts in the ED, academic responsibilities, and coaching/managing Grey Steel (i.e. time spent on each per week or month)? Are you satisfied with this balance?

How does the rotating shift nature of emergency medicine affect your training? Do you eventually adapt to it?

How does the rotating shift nature of EM affect your availability as a coach? Are you able to meet with trainees several times a week at the same time each session? Do you have a lot of input into your scheduling at the ED?

If you were to go back in time knowing that you’d be a strength coach in addition to a physician, would you consider a sports medicine fellowship after residency? Would you consider another specialty altogether?

Do you think you could have your coaching practice (or something like it) if you had chosen another specialty?

How did you get started in coaching? Where did your first trainees come from? And at what point in your medical career was this?

Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by Suboptimal View Post

What is your balance of shifts in the ED, academic responsibilities, and coaching/managing Grey Steel (i.e. time spent on each per week or month)? Are you satisfied with this balance?