starting strength gym

Thread: Barbell Prescription & Learning the Lifts

Default Barbell Prescription & Learning the Lifts

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi There,

A coworker is interested in barbell training to prevent osteopenia and to correct posture. She is 50, ~6'3", and would make a twig look sturdy.

Does The Barbell Prescription cover movement forms in-depth enough for a complete newbie? Should she also get a copy of Starting Strength?

Thanks

-Doug

In order to get introduced to good form and movement, get the current edition of Starting Strength. Get the form down first.

The programming most appropriate for older people is contained in the Barbell Prescription.

Thanks Mark.

Glad to help.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark E. Hurling View Post
    In order to get introduced to good form and movement, get the current edition of Starting Strength. Get the form down first.

The programming most appropriate for older people is contained in the Barbell Prescription.
    Great advice. Also if she has a SS coach anywhere near her it can really help to at least get initial coaching on the lifts. Some places offer like a 6 session pack to get some initial coaching. I did this but not right away and I wish I had.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveL View Post
    Great advice. Also if she has a SS coach anywhere near her it can really help to at least get initial coaching on the lifts. Some places offer like a 6 session pack to get some initial coaching. I did this but not right away and I wish I had.
    I'm in Houston. I've advised her to see Andy Baker or Randy Winfrey on a semi-regular basis at a minimum for form correction.

Quote Originally Posted by dshannon89 View Post
    I'm in Houston. I've advised her to see Andy Baker or Randy Winfrey on a semi-regular basis at a minimum for form correction.
    Tell her to email me at kingwoodstrength@gmail.com