starting strength gym

Thread: Garage Gym Warrior Offsets Question

Default Garage Gym Warrior Offsets Question

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone,

I've recently purchased Andy's Garage Gym Warrior and have a question about the offsets. I know that there is option of using bigger offsets of 10%-20% for lifters that are using heavier weights.

A little info about myself:

Height: 6'2"
    Weight: 275

Bench: 285lbs
    Squat: 395lbs
    Deadlift: 445lbs
    Press: 175lbs

These lifts are confirmed 1RM's from about 4 weeks ago.

I've been lifting consistently for the last 5 years (after a 20+ year layoff) using Wendlers 5/3/1 and have had some success with it but I'm looking for something different for my now aging body.

I'd be interested to hear from other forum members who've used the program and their experiences about selecting the most appropriate/correct offset. I'm thinking about using the bigger offsets but I'm concerned that this might make the light and medium days somewhat too light. At the same time, I don't want to get to the week 9 mark and find that the program is burying me by not being smart about selecting my offsets.

Any thoughts and feedback is welcome.

Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by kez56 View Post
    Hi everyone,

I've recently purchased Andy's Garage Gym Warrior and have a question about the offsets. I know that there is option of using bigger offsets of 10%-20% for lifters that are using heavier weights.

I've been lifting consistently for the last 5 years (after a 20+ year layoff) using Wendlers 5/3/1 and have had some success with it but I'm looking for something different for my now aging body.