starting strength gym

Thread: 61 year old female lifter who has been lifting for 20 years

Default 61 year old female lifter who has been lifting for 20 years

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I started "powerlifting" style of training several months ago. My age is 61, weight 150, height 5'7". I downloaded the app and have been following the program 2 to 3 days a week. I am completely flogged after a training session. I work as a massage therapist 3 days a week and that also fatigues me. I recently bought the Barbell Prescription and was thinking of doing the 2 day split until winter hits when it becomes slow season and I will have more time. Deadlifting and squatting on the same days is very hard. My highest DL before starting this was 165, squat was around 150 for a single. Right now I am struggling with 3 sets of 5 at 115 lbs!!! What am I doing wrong? Should I break up the squat and DL? Would 5/3/1 be better for me. Any other oldies out there for some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome. Youve come to the right place, and you are here for the right reasons. In addition to the Barbell Prescritpn, you should also read the book "Starting Strength" to make sure your fundamentals are sound. Also, listen to Rip: he's not warm and cuddly in his responses to questions about training, but he is always correct.