starting strength gym

Thread: The Barbell Prescription

Default The Barbell Prescription

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Just re-reading Sully's master work (with Andy Baker); The Barbell Prescription.
    The first few chapters on physiology and disease in the old codger population, which includes myself, is an exceptional overview of the field. I'm also a physician with some interest and experience in normal and exercise physiology and cardiovascular disease.
    Inspired by Sully, and of course Mark Rippetoe, I've chosen to become a Masters Athlete of Aging, get myself under the barbell and work at gaining strength, power and mobility on a regular basis. In six months my squat has more than doubled, from a feeble 45kg to an acceptable 97kgs and rising, my deadlift has also doubled to over 130kg and I'm making slower but measurable progress on the presses, cleans and pull-ups.
    I'm preaching to the choir here but if anyone reading this section of the forums hasn't got Sully's book I'd advise you to beg, borrow or steal a copy, study it carefully and use it as the foundation for your training plans. I add HIIT sessions (CrossFit) and a bit of social cycling to a couple of SS workouts each week, because I enjoy the social aspect of working out and cycling with my buddies but any other combination of HIIT and SLD sessions would also work.
    Chapeau to Sully

Fantastic book. Whenever I am feeling unmotivated, or I have gone off the reservation with regard to diet & training, I go back to it to get my head back on right again.

I’ll second that.

A truly great book for many reasons. Among them:

Extremely well written ... and edited.
    Incredibly important subject.
    Very thorough research.
    Compelling arguments.
    Detailed instructions for programming.
    And last but not least, some great humor.

I already bought two copies for myself and convinced a couple of friends to buy it.