starting strength gym
Page 505 of 517 FirstFirst ... 5405455495503504505506507515 ... LastLast
Results 5,041 to 5,050 of 5163

Thread: Garage gyms

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    First time posting here, apologies if I'm in the wrong area.

I have been slowly accumulating my garage gym equipment from Craigslist type websites/apps. I just bought my first barbell for $25. The only markings are on the end caps reading CHAPMANPOWER.COM.

I have only been able to find a few references to a Mike Chapman that made barbells with very little other information through Google which seems astounding to me that more didn't come up.

Anyone know anything about these bars? I'm relatively new to the barbell world, wondering if I've got junk or a gem for a bar.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveL View Post
    Please post again after your bench experience. I'd like to know what your thoughts are there as well. I've got a Monster Lite rack I could use this on if it makes sense for me.
    The Rogue monolift was great for benching, I think that's where it shines, better than for squat, and primarily why I got it. Eliminating the awkward unracking did a lot for keeping my shoulders feeling solid, and not all discombobulated just prior to executing a heavy bench.

One thing to keep in mind is on the re-rack, the bar traces a slightly downward arc, and the monolift traces a slightly upward arc, so if you don't have it set low enough it could be a reach. I think I probably positioned myself too low on the bench on the first try, as I'm used to unracking from hooks, and I nailed hook instead of landing on top. Once I dial in unracking from the balance point at the top of the bench, press it's going to make unracking and re-racking so much smoother.

Really glad I got it, I think it's going to help bench progress.