starting strength gym
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: RPE

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by John Hanley View Post
    When you program set and reps for an advanced lifter at a given percentage, how do you dose the stress? Say, we're doing 75% established-1rm on the squat...how many reps per set? How many sets? What's your logic for these decisions?
    I have no personal experience with advanced lifters, using Rip's definition of an advanced lifter. I myself am not an advanced lifter. However, to answer this question would require knowing the lifters past history. What did they get for a 1RM? What reps/sets and at what weights have they used before and what was the outcome? What volume was an excessive stimulus? What can they recover from? A one size fits all approach is incredibly ill-advised for an advanced lifter. I would need to know their training history to even take a shot at this. The best evidence for what you can do tomorrow is who you were yesterday.

Also: bar speed decay is pretty damned linear. Different sloped for different folks, but linear.
    This could be the case, I am just going off of my own experience which might be invalid. I'll admit, I'm not a coach and I am a novice, just one who enjoys thinking too much

Quote Originally Posted by Dalton Clark View Post
    The best evidence for what you can do tomorrow is who you were yesterday.
    Hmm. So you're advocating "real-time" dosing of stress. IOW, prescribing the stress dose (tonnage, intensity, volume) based on who I was yesterday.

Presumably, it would be even better to know what I can do right now, based on who I am right now & given anticipated quality of forthcoming recovery (always a best-guess).