starting strength gym

Thread: Test Day Weight Selection

Default Test Day Weight Selection

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    This weekend, I'll be finishing up my second run at Jordan's general intermediate program, which calls for a test day, with 1@8, 1@9, and 1@10 for competition squat, bench, and deadlift. As I'm still kind of new at RPE, I wanted to see how my RPE assessments seem, and if my target weights appear reasonable for Sunday.

Here is a squat, 1x450@8:

and 1x470@9:

If those look okay, my goals for Sunday would be 1x450@8, 470@9, and 485@10, all +/-5 lbs. depending on judgment.

And here is a deadlift, 1x515@9:

If that looks ok, I'd like to do 495@8, 515@9, and 535@10.

Any input would be helpful. Thanks!

Full disclaimer, I'm super new to RPE (I don't use it for training, just trying to understand it) and do not claim to have it figured out.

I usually take what I thought it was in the moment, versus the bar speed, and then kind of split the difference. That said, I have no idea what your PERCEPTION was, but those move way too nicely for me to have said they were 9's if it were me...

Just a bored dude opining on the interweb...

450 looked like 7.5, 470 like 8.5 to me. The deadlift video has 3 reps? Maybe wrong video? Back unlocked, so for flat back it's >@10, but it looked like you could have had at least 1 more with rounding. Since this is for programming weights rather than a competition, I'd be inclined to be more strict about back flatness, and at the very least pick something I know I could maintain extension in for the 1st and 2nd pulls, but that's up to you.

Quote Originally Posted by cgeorg View Post