starting strength gym
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Switching Programs

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by Les Hahn View Post
    Were the weights you listed your 1RM's? We could give you some ballpark numbers. I disagree with Michael a little about going up to hard (but not limit) sets. That is for a total newbie that not only gains muscle but also neuro muscular efficiency. You've been lifting a while, so it won't be the same as a brand new lifter. I would rather you undershoot a tad and have some running room to hit new PR's vs starting too heavy and hitting a plateau after 2-3 weeks.
    Yes thats what my current lifts are at. Also my ohp max is 130lbs. OHP still a new movement for me, only have been doing it for 4 months or so.

Quote Originally Posted by fattybuff View Post
    Yes thats what my current lifts are at. Also my ohp max is 130lbs. OHP still a new movement for me, only have been doing it for 4 months or so.
    Ok, awesome! You still have to gauge it, but I would start somewhere around 75% of your 1RM. If that feels like you won't be progressing that long using that kind of weight, bump it back even a little more.

If you are on the standard 5/3/1 program, it will be an adjustment to go from squatting 1x per week to 3x (same for some of the other lifts), so even moving to advanced novice in short order may be an option. But using 75% of your 1RM for squat, you would be starting with 205. At 10# jumps every session, you will be back up to 275 pretty rapidly.

Best of luck! With some weight gain plus this kind of program, I think you will see better results than running 5/3/1, which is really for more advanced lifters anyways.

Quote Originally Posted by Les Hahn View Post