starting strength gym

Thread: Anyone training in St Paul, MN?

Default Anyone training in St Paul, MN?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Just checking to see if anyone would want to do a one-off training session together for some SS form support, rah-rahing, and all that. I did a couple of forum searches for references to MN and didn't get much so here I am.

I currently train at my local YMCA (east saiiiide) where there is one half squat rack and no one else who low bar squats or doesn't bounce deadlifts off the floor, let alone press (I've never seen anyone do a press). So I would love to do some work around another SS disciple or two. It looks like there's a black iron gym close by in Maplewood that lacks SS coaches but has a reasonable drop-in rate (I use the Y for the childcare and the pool). Or I could come to your gym.

Oh and in case you're worried about me being a total noob with shitty lifts, I'm at 305 squat, 350 deadlift, 205 bench, 140 press. I've got a lot to learn but would love to meet up with another barbell enthusiast. Thanks.

You're WAY stronger than I am, but my excuse is age! I'm in Minneapolis, male, 6' 4", 218 lbs, age 72. I've been lifting for about a year, currently on a HLM 3-day per week routine. Squat is 215, bench is 150, deadlift is 235, 95 press. FWIW, I'm working to arrange a coaching session with Nick Klemetson in Waverly, IA (the nearest SSC). As far as gyms go, Los Campeones (2 locations in Mpls) is lifting-centric, though not a card-carrying member of the SS family. Nice people, though, and good lifting setup. I'm currently training solo at the neighborhood Anytime Fitness (two half-racks).

Barbells at 72! That's great, and I'm hoping I will still be at it then too. I'm 35 and almost two years into my barbell journey, but there have been breaks for house projects, winter colds, a baby, so I still have much to gain.