starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Back off or move forward? Thoughts please

Default Back off or move forward? Thoughts please

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello everyone!

I've been doing the Starting Strength program for about 2 months and I feel I'm doing well. I've been working out most of my life with and without injuries. My question is, I'm 50 and I know "things" don't move/heal as quickly as they once did and I'm at a point of uncertainty. Would I be safer dropping down a bit , staying or continue progressing in weight?

Currently, my stats are as follows:
    5ft 8in@ approx 213lbs
    Squat - 355lbs@ 3x5 (Hard, but felt good, generally speaking)
    Press - 115lbs@ 3x5 (Feels good)
    Power Clean - 155lbs@ 5x3 (Still feels good, though feeling the weight)
    Bench - 190lbs@ 3x5 (Taking this one slow, due to past shoulder issues, but no pain currently)
    Deadlift - 305lbs@ 1x4 (Failed to perform the set of 5; bad form, tired, lower back just didn't feel right)

The biggest reason for my question is because my hip flexors are very sore (pretty sure my form was off).
    I'm really enjoying the program, it's been giving me goals to look forward to.

Thanks!
    Vaughn

Post a form video.

If you are able to add weight to the bar (5 pounds on squat, 2.5 on bench and press, 5-10 on deadlift), then continue with the program. If things are feeling grueling then you can add a light squat day in the middle of your work at 60%-80% of your Day 1 weight. Post a form video so we can see if your hip flexor soreness is due to a form issue. It often is due to too vertical of shins and not setting the knees. This is an issue that I had. Also checking depth is always a good idea. Other than that, keep chugging along.