starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: High heart rate when training

Default High heart rate when training

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey guys I'm new to the program, training and the forum, I'm in the process of reading the book beginning to end but have a general understanding of the lifts and program itself, so please forgive me if I ask anything that would be obvious had I finished the book already

I'm a 230 lbs ish, ~35% bodyfat 20 yr old male currently about a month into training (I know I should have finished the book by now but I got lazy, working on that now) while on a caloric deficit to try and lose fat while retaining lean mass and gaining strength, here are my lifts so far, all for 3x5:

Deadlift: 95kg / 209lbs
    Squat: 90kg / 198
    Bench press: 55kg / 121lbs
    Press: 30kg / 66lbs

Haven't started power cleans yet intend to soon. I have practiced form very carefully and think I have good form across the previous 4 exercises but will post a form check soon

I'm concerned about my heart rate when training. My heart quite easily gets to about 150 to 160 when lightly exerting myself, and has peaked at about 198 when heavily exerting myself with heavy lifts or intense cardio. It tends to hover around the mid 180s to 190 generally when training at an average, tough but doable intensity.

Is this safe? I don't tend to experience light headedness or numbness or any of the things people usually say to watch out for if your hearts going faster than it can handle, I just feel very exerted, feel my heart pounding and am breathing very heavily. Nausea will come to me far before feeling lightheaded if I've really gone too far.