starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where Should I Feel the Squat?

Default Where Should I Feel the Squat?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been doing the program for about two months now. Read the book twice, saw the MR video on youtube a few times, and completed a two hour session on the squat and deadlift with a SS certified trainer at Atlanta Barbell. My form has improved, my wife, who is my training partner keeps an eye on me and points out the usual screw ups like bent wrists and staying too erect, but all and all, I think I'm doing alright. I'm still having an issue with the hip drive concept, though. I really feel the squat after the workout in my quads, hamstrings, glutes, and lower back. They are usually good and sore. Does this reveal anything about how well I am doing this exercise?

No, it doesn't reveal anything. Video will reveal it though.

Quote Originally Posted by RobertM View Post
    I have been doing the program for about two months now. Read the book twice, saw the MR video on youtube a few times, and completed a two hour session on the squat and deadlift with a SS certified trainer at Atlanta Barbell. My form has improved, my wife, who is my training partner keeps an eye on me and points out the usual screw ups like bent wrists and staying too erect, but all and all, I think I'm doing alright. I'm still having an issue with the hip drive concept, though. I really feel the squat after the workout in my quads, hamstrings, glutes, and lower back. They are usually good and sore. Does this reveal anything about how well I am doing this exercise?
    You should feel the squat mostly in your everything.

Quote Originally Posted by Mugaaz View Post
    No, it doesn't reveal anything. Video will reveal it though.
    Quote Originally Posted by Charles Jenkins View Post
    You should feel the squat mostly in your everything.
    Both of these answers are correct.