starting strength gym

Thread: Quick workout... squats?

Default Quick workout... squats?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Tonight i had to be quick with my workout because my wife wanted to go out...

Is it better to skip a workout and do the next day or do it but only squats?

It depends on a lot of things, but generally, complying to the plan is better than not (or rather complying more to the plan is better than less)
    Starting Strength Indianapolis is up and running. Sign up for a free 30-minute coaching session.
    I answer all my emails: ALewis@StartingStrengthGyms.com

My understanding is quite limited, as I am only a novice myself, but I think that it is the total volume of all three lifts combined that constitutes the stress applied for adaptation to occur, and what elicits the requisite hormonal response. I’m not sure that just squatting provides enough stress.

So my guess is just skip and do the entire workout as early as convenient rather than do just one lift.

Quote Originally Posted by Dustman007 View Post
    Tonight i had to be quick with my workout because my wife wanted to go out...

Is it better to skip a workout and do the next day or do it but only squats?
    Depends on your programming, especially intermediate/advanced programming when you're doing longer-term periodization and accumulating workload stress over a week with a collection of different lifts. For example The Bridge has you do belted squats on Monday, pause squats Wednesday, and 303 tempo squats on Friday: skipping any one of those is going to alter the intended accumulation of training stress (granted, Bridge is RPE training which is something entirely different - just a rough example.).