starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Converting to Low Bar Squat

Default Converting to Low Bar Squat

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I am an olympic lifter and tonight started low bar squat. I would greatly appreciate any and all criticism of my squats tonight. Must say they felt odd and heavy, but its my first time trying them. I am trying to switch to low bar primarily to save my knees, which dont track well. Hopefully the various camera angles are helpful, i train in a very small shed. Thanks for any help!
    http://youtu.be/irO7WhSlk0M
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/irO7WhSlk0M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

You're breaking at the knees before the hips. Then your knees stop going forward, but then they start again towards the bottom.

Quote Originally Posted by Adam Skillin View Post
    You're breaking at the knees before the hips. Then your knees stop going forward, but then they start again towards the bottom.
    Thanks very much Adam, very kind of you. I will use a wood block then to stop the knee slide at bottom. I must be mis-understanding Starting Strength 3 - as i deliberately moved knees forward at start, and then hips back?

That cue should fix you right up. Ideally, the knees and hips unlock simultaneously at the top for a smooth descent. Then, about 1/3 to 1/2 the way down, the knees have reach their farthest point forward and the rest of the motion is hips (and knees spread out). Don't over-think it. The block of wood should encourage the right position.

Quote Originally Posted by BareSteel View Post